print logo

The top 10 Arab fashion designers

Pashion Magazine lists the top 10 most popular and most worn fashion designers of the Arab World, including Elie Saab and Georges Chakra.
Pashion Magazine | 09.04.2012
No doubt that Elie Saab (www.eliesaab.com) is the king of Arab fashion designers. Since the Lebanese designer made international headlines with the sexy gown Halle Berry wore when she received the 2002 Oscars, it has been uphill in Hollywood and beyond.

Another of the Lebanese fashion powerhouses is headed by Georges Chakra (www.georgeschakra.com).

A regular at Paris haute couture fashion week and also at New York Fashion Week , where he shows his ready-to-wear line, he recently celebrated 25 years in fashion , with a big bang event in his hometown Beirut.

Helen Mirren are among the international film stars that have sported his gowns on the red carpet.

Compatriot Zuhair Murad (www.zuhairmurad.com) has always been a favorite among Middle Eastern jet-setters and gained international recognition when his collection for Mango launched worldwide in 2007.

The young Hollywood crowd has a penchant for Georges Hobeika (www.georgeshobeika.com). His evening gowns that range from sexy to demure and classy, have made him a house hold name on the red carpet.

On the avant-garde side, Rabih Kayrouz (www.maisonrabihkayrouz.com) has established himself as the top-name among the younger generation of Lebanese designers. His clean cut designs not only have won over the younger generation of Arab fashionistas but also the international fashion press, including Suzy Menkes. Milia Maroun, whose label Milia M. (www.miliam.com) is found in the US, and Europe, is another of the young Arab fashion designer generation who has traded strass and glitz for sleek tailoring. Her store in Saifi Village in Beirut is a must visit when in the Lebanese capital.

In Dubai, Syrian designer Rami Al Ali, (www.ramialali.com) has made a name for himself among the Emirati royals and high society.

After a few seasons at Rome’s AltaRomaAltaModa, (www.altaroma.it) the Syrian designer had a strong debut collection at Paris haute couture week January 2012.

Another regular at Alta Roma is Abed Mahfouz (www.abedmahfouz.com) whose couture, ready-to-wear and bridal collection can be found from the United States to the Far East. Lama Al Andari, the Palestinian, Qatari-based designer behind the Toujouri label (www.toujouri.com) has created a signature style that evolves from the original Middle Eastern abbeya design. Colorful and fresh, her creations are not only found at her posh boutique (designed by no other than Peter Marino) at Doha’s Pearl but also at international retailers such as Harrod’s of London (www.harrods.com).

Another young designer who has had impressive international press coverage is Lebanese Caroline Seikaly (www.carolineseikaly.com) who after a 6 year stint at Karl Lagerfeld launched her first collection in 2008, filled with pretty dresses in lace, by now a signature fabric in every collection.

See one of our exclusive fashion shoot productions by Mohieb Dahabieh of Moda’s Touch (www.modastouch.com) featuring socialite Petrina Khashoggi in haute couture designs including Elie Saab and Georges Hobeika:
http://youtu.be/bgNwsueWtiI