Marketing-Börse PLUS - Fachbeiträge zu Marketing und Digitalisierung
print logo

Egypt reshuffles 10 ministries

9 of the 10 new ministries are business-related. Egypt Business Directory presents the names and short biographies of the new ministers.
10 new ministers swore in today in front of President AbdelFatttah El-Sisi as part of a cabinet reshuffle. Nine out of the 10 new ministries are business-related, here are their names and short profile:

1- Ministry of Investment: Dalia Khorshid replaced Ashraf Salman as the Minister of investment. Khorshid served as the Executive Director of Orascom Construction Industries.

2- Ministry of Finance: Amr El-Garhy will replace Hany Dimian. El-Garhy was Chief of the Board of Directors of the National Investment Bank. He also held high profile positions in Al-Qalaa holding and the Arab contractors. Three deputies were appointed to the minister of finance, these are:
Mohamed Ahmed Meait: Deputy to the Minister of finance for public treasury.
Amr Ibrahim el Mounir : Deputy to the Minister of Finance for tax policies.
Ahmed Ashraf Ali : Deputy to the Minister of Finance for financial policies.

3- Ministry of Public Business Sector: A newly introduced ministry to be held by Ashraf Al-Sharkawy.
Al-Sharkawy is the former head of the Egyptian Financial Supervisory Authority and member of the board of directors of Banque Misr.

4- Ministry of Manpower: Mohamed Saafan will head the ministry replacing Gamal Sorour. Saafan served as head of the General Trade Union for Petroleum workers, Deputy Head of Egyptian Trade Unions Federation.

5- Ministry of Tourism: Mohamed Yehia Rashed replaced Hisham Zaazou. He served high positions at the Marriott Hotel chain in Egypt and in Europe.

6- Ministry of Antiquities: Khaled Al-Anany replaced Mamdouh Al-Damaty. Al-Anany is an Egyptologist, he held several positions in academia. He served as the director of the Egyptian museum and supervised the civilization museum. In a television interview he stated that his agenda includes training ministry employees, the development of touristic areas to be able to provide high quality tourism experience and the retrieval of Egyptian antiquities abroad.

7- Ministry of Transportation: Galal Mostafa Al-Saeed instead of Saad El-Geioushy. This is not Al-Saeed's first time as a transportation minister, he held the post in Al-Ganzouri's cabinet. He is a professor of transportation planning and road engineering at Cairo University. He also served as Cairo Governor before.

8- Ministry of Civil Aviation: Sherif Fathy Attia replaced Hossam Kamal. Attia is the chairman of the holding company Egypt Air.

9- Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation: Mohamed AbdelAaty replaced Mohamed Moghazi. AbdelAaty was working at the World Bank prior to his appointment. He also served as head of the Nile Water sector responsible for cooperation with Nile Basin countries.

The 10th ministry was the ministry of justice which went to Judge Hossam AbdelRaheem, head of the High Judicial Council and Court of Cassation.